How to Unsync Google Photos from Android & iPhone in 2023

0
215
how to unsync google photos

Google Photos isn’t just only a photo viewer app, but it also works as a cloud backup for the photos on your device and backs them up in your Google Drive. That’s why iPhone users often use Google Photos on their devices to backup their photos. Because iPhones have limited storage and don’t have the option to insert an external SD card to store the photos. But, for various reasons, users might want to unsync Google photos from their devices.

If you want to do the same, but can’t find the option to do that, then you just have come to the right place. In this guide, we have described how you can unsync Google Photos from your Android or iOS device and stop taking backups on your device. We have provided step by step guide to do that easily. So, just follow the guide we have described, and you’ll be able to unsync easily without any issues. You can also read about fixing Snapchat camera not working issue.

About Google Photos

Google Photos is the official photo viewer app from Google. However, it also works as a cloud backup app on your devices. It can back up photos automatically and save them to your Google storage.

Usually, Google provides 15 GB of free Google cloud storage that you can use to backup your photos and save anything on Google Drive. However, when the free storage is filled up or users want to use a new Google account to take backup of their photos, they need to unsync Google photos from backing up the photos.

Below, we have described how you can do that on your Android or iOS device and stop taking backup of your photos on Google photos. So, follow the guide below to do that easily.

How to Unsync Google Photos?

On Android

If you want to unsync Google photos on your Android device, then the process is very easy. You can just follow the guide below to do that.

  1. First of all, open Google Photos on your device.
  2. Then, click on your profile picture icon from the upper right corner and go to the “Photos Settings” option.
  3. Now, choose the “Backup” option from there and turn off the backup.

That’s it. It’ll unsync Google Photos and stop from backing up the photos on your device.

On iOS

If you want to unsync Google Photos on your iPhone or iPad, then the process is a little bit different. Below, we have described how you can do that easily. So, follow the guide below to unsync.

  1. First of all, open Google Photos on your device and click on your profile picture icon from the upper right corner.
  2. Then, go to Photos Settings>Backup and turn off the backup.
  3. Now, open the Settings option on your iPhone.
  4. Then, scroll down and select the Google Photos option from there.
  5. After that, select the “Photos” option from there and select “None” from the allow photos access option.
  6. Now, delete the Google Photos app from your iPhone or iPad.

That’s it. It’ll stop the sync process of Google Photos.

Will it Delete My Photos If I Unsync Google Photos from My Device?

No, unless you delete photos manually from the Google Photos app, it won’t delete any photo from your device or the Google Photos app. On iOS devices, it might not show the photos available in your Google Photos backup when you unsync it.

However, that doesn’t mean it’ll delete the photos. You can always open the Google Photos app or the website on your PC and get access to the photos easily.

Conclusion

So, I hope you liked this guide about unsyncing Google Photos from your device. If you liked this guide, you can share it on your social media platforms. Just use the share buttons below to do that. If you have any questions or queries, you can ask in the comment section below. You can also provide your feedback in the comment section.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here